Greetings!

New Users Forum - Dec 4th 2017

1. Magda Hellas

Magda Hellas

NYC
    Hi All,
    My name is Magda. Im in NYC. I joined the forum because i wanted to learn more about crypto currencies. Im new to the whole concept. I bought a hard wallet a couple of months ago and ive been struggling with setting up a transaction. I wanted to try and buy bitcoin, ethereum etc but ive encountered a lot of technical difficulties. The sites wont recognize the address generated by the wallet. Watching youtube did not help. I realized i needed the support of a crypto community because its not all as straightforward as it sounds. Im looking forward to interacting with you all. Thank you!

2. V4Vendetta

V4Vendetta

Texas
    Hi Magda, welcome! Which hardware wallet do you have? Also, you can't buy crypto using a hardware wallet, they are only for storage after the fact. In general what you would need to do is to set up an account with an exchange where you can exchange fiat currency for crypto currency (eg. Coinbase, BitStamp, Kraken, etc.). Once you've gone through the verification processes and have a bank account or credit card on file, you can make your purchases. Once the purchases have cleared your bank and been released (this will show up on your bank account days before it officially goes through) the appropriate balance will show up in your wallet. In the case of Coinbase it takes about 8 days. Once you have a crypto balance within the exchange you bought it from, you can then transfer whatever amount you wish from the exchange wallet to your crypto wallet.

3. Magda Hellas

Magda Hellas

NYC