How to avoid huge network fees.

Status
Archived
From
Florida
I am new to buying crypto. I opened a Coinbase account, funded it and purchased $100. I had read that it is not smart to leave it in the wallet that is attached to the exchange. So, I transferred them to my GreenAddress wallet. Yeah, I got hammered with $40 in network fees. Did I say I am new to this?

So, having learned what not to do, what is the safest way / wallet to store my btc in to avoid loosing my money.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

V4Vendetta

From
Texas
I am new to buying crypto. I opened a Coinbase account, funded it and purchased $100. I had read that it is not smart to leave it in the wallet that is attached to the exchange. So, I transferred them to my GreenAddress wallet. Yeah, I got hammered with $40 in network fees. Did I say I am new to this?

So, having learned what not to do, what is the safest way / wallet to store my btc in to avoid loosing my money.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Generally the safer wallets are hardware wallets like the Ledger, Trezor, KeepKey, etc. Another good options is a trustworthy desktop wallet (like Exodus), provided you backup all your private key info outside of your computer.

From
down under
btc fees are incredibly high, you should change it into ETH or LTC before exchanging elsewhere (unless, of course, you want to hold btc which will be a dilemma)

I would recommend moving your coins to somewhere like HitBTC as they list coins faster than the other big exchanges. It is likely to also list RaiBlocks shortly which has x30'ed in like 3 months.

From
Belfast n. Ireland